Return to Headlines


Pictured, left to right are Heather Hiotis, Guidance Counselor;
Dr. Dennis P. O’Hara, Superintendent of Schools; Caroline Fortmeyer;
Catherine Sheridan; Marisa Wanatick, Guidance Counselor;
Dr. Carolyn J. Probst, Assistant to the Superintendent for Educational Services and Student Outcomes; Christopher Cook, Principal.
Not pictured is student, Tyler Xu.

Christopher Cook, Hauppauge High School Principal, has announced that three of our high school students have been named “Commended Students in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program.” The students who have been named are Caroline Fortmeyer, Catherine Sheridan and Tyler Xu. Mr. Cook  presented each of these students with their “Letter of Commendation.”

There are approximately 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2020 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2020 competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).
“Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

With regard to attending college, Caroline said that at the moment, she is undecided as to where she will attend, but has been visiting colleges. Catherine has said that MIT is her number one choice, and she would like to major in biochemistry and then go on to medical school.
Congratulations to Caroline, Catherine, and Tyler on this outstanding academic achievement!