Horizons Header

  • HHS Performing Artists are Stellar

    The Performing Arts Department at Hauppauge High School (HHS) is a treasure to be sure.  Thanks to the innovation, expertise and dedication of Performing Arts Teachers Ruthie Pincus and David Schaeffler, students are exposed to opportunities that are not available at other schools.

    Given the opportunities, HHS students take full advantage and excel.  Ms. Pincus and Mr. Schaeffler work together to present Broadway quality theater productions with Ms. Pincus directing and Mr. Schaeffler handling the tech.

    Ms. Pincus is also the force behind “Stage the Change” which just enjoyed a fantastic evening of entertainment held in the beautiful John W. Engeman Theater in Northport.  On Monday, April 30, 2018, HHS students shared the stage with Broadway performers in a wonderful display of singing, dancing and theatrical performances for “Party with a Purpose.” (Click here to see the program)

    “Stage the Change” is a vital social awareness project born from the hearts of Long Island High School theatre students and faculty.  “Stage the Change” creates a multitude of opportunities for young people to become global citizens through artistic and interactive learning.  “Stage the Change” is co-sponsored by Hauppauge Public Schools and the Tilles Center for the Performing Arts at LIU Post, and has partnered with the John W. Engeman Theater.

    “Stage the Change” just received an Anti-Bias Award from The Suffolk County Human Rights Commission for exemplifying the importance of inclusion and equality in art form.

    “Stage the Change” is already in preparation for the annual conference to be held on November 2, 2018 at the Tilles Center for the Performing Arts.  This year’s theme is “A Civil Society: Be the Change.” Student performers are encouraged to apply for a spot on the big stage. Speak to Ms. Pincus or visit www.stagethechange.org.

    Broadway has taken notice of “Stage the Change.”  Hamilton’s own Lin-Manuel Miranda’s Tee Rico is a proud supporter.  This year’s keynote speaker for the 2018 Conference is Anthony Rapp, who has starred in Rent, Star Trek: Discovery, You’re a Good Man Charlie Brown, and Little Shop of Horrors. 

    The “Stage the Change” players have been invited to perform in New York City at a Speak Up, Rise Up festival on Saturday, August 11th at 12 pm.

    Francesco DiFlora was nominated for the Roger Rees Award for his portrayal of J. Pierpont Finch in the 2018 HHS spring musical production of “How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying.”

    The press release reads, “The Broadway Education Alliance is pleased to announce the 2017-2018 Student Nominees who will compete for the title of Best Actor and Best Actress at The Roger Rees Awards for Excellence in Student Performance on Saturday, May 19 at Pearl Studios in Manhattan. Francesco DiFlora from Hauppauge High School will be a member of a fifty student (25 men and 25 women) cast that represents 27 high schools located in Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, Staten Island, Long Island, and Orange, Rockland and Westchester Counties that have presented an officially licensed production of a Broadway musical during the 2017-2018 academic year." 

    Playbill magazine published an article on their website about this event.

    The “Stage the Change” players (Andrew Crecca, Francesco DiFlora, Lucas Field, David Fresolone and Vincent Gerardi) placed second at the New York State History Day (NYSHD) Competition which was held on Monday, April 23rd in Cooperstown, NY and will be moving on to the National Competition in June at the University of Maryland.  This is the first time Hauppauge will send a performance to the national competition. 

    Mr. David Schaeffler teaches all forms of Video Production and is behind the production of the “Eagle Watch,” Hauppauge’s own in-house news program.  His students have also distinguished themselves considerably.

    The young Eagle Watch broadcasters did very well at BASH (Broadcasting Awards for Senior High).

     1st Place Best School News Package –Lucas Cavanagh and Kenny Gardner

    1st Place Best Sports News Package –Jack Ford

    3rd Place Most Entertaining-Jack Ford


    LI Media Arts Show

    Film: “Pen Clicker”

    Produced By: Frank Hufnagel and Shijo Thomas

    Best in Show

    This film was selected for the Suffolk County Film Commissions First Exposure Film Festival.

    The event takes place on May 20, 2018, at the Huntington Cinema Arts Center in Huntington at 4 pm.


    HHS student films did very well at the recent Locust Valley Film Festival.  Prize winners were:

    Film: “Reconciliation”

    Produced By: Frank Hufnagel, Evelyn Beltrani, Josie Thode and Shijo Thomas

    Best Overall Film-

    1st Place Drama

    2nd Place Cinematography

    3rd Place Editing


    PSA: Don’t Be a Boris

    2nd Place Best PSA

    3rd Place Sound Design


    Ten Day Film Challenge

    Film: “Moribund “

    Produced By: Lucas Cavanagh, Jack Ford, Kenneth Gardner, Aiden Sferlazzo and Luke Strand

    Top 30 in NY State and invited to screening and awards in Astoria. 

    Film: “Payback”

    Produced By: Frank Hufnagel, Evelyn Beltrani,  Henry Sweeny and Shijo Thomas

    Top 30 in NY State and invited to screening and awards in Astoria.


    Wednesday night, May 16, 2018, in Astoria, Payback won 5th Place-Best Overall, and Best Use of Sound.  Congratulations to Frank Hufnagel, Evelyn Beltrani, Henry Sweeny and Shijo Thomas.  “Payback” will be advancing to the National competition in Philadelphia in June where it will go up against films from across the country.

    Moribund won 6th Place-Best Overall and the Audience Choice Award.  Excellent job Lucas Cavanagh, Jack Ford, Kenneth Gardner, Aiden Sferlazzo and Luke Strand.
    10 Day Film Winners
  • Stage the Change

    Stage the Change

    Stage the Change

    How to Succeed in Business...

    Stage the Change

    BASH Award Winners

    BASH Award Winner

    BASH Award Winners

    Locust Valley Film Festival winners.

    Locust Valley Film Festival winners.

    10 Day Film Winners

    Hamilton creator and star

  • Eagle Watch Logo      Horizons Footer